Saturday, September 06, 2008

Over The Edge 'New Writer of The Year' in Galway City Library

The Over The Edge New Writer of The Year 2008 competition is open to both poets and fiction writers. The winner will receive a cash prize of €600, a spot as a Featured Reader at an Over The Edge: Open Reading, and the title Over The Edge New Writer of The Year 2008. The runner-up will receive a cash prize of €300, while the third-placed writer will receive €100.

The short-list for the 2008 Over The Edge New Writer of the Year competition is as follows:

Megan Buckley, Galway
Fiona Clark Echlin, Tipperary
Denise Garvey, GalwayEamonn Harrigan, Galway
Brian Kirk, Dublin
Tom Lavelle, Galway
Wes Lee, New Zealand
Mary Madec, Galway
Donny Mahoney, Dublin
Alan McMonagle, Galway
Brendan Murphy, Galway
Mairin O'Grady, Kildare
Aiden O'Reilly, Dublin
Hans-Joachim Quade, Galway
Evelyn Walsh, Dublin

The winners will be announced by competion judge, Celeste Augé, at the Over The Edge: Open Reading in Galway City Library, Augustine Street on Thursday, September 25th, 6.30-8pm, when the Featured Readers will by Colette Bryce, Des Kavanagh & Orla Higgins. The reading is sponsored by Poetry Ireland.

No comments: